#Login Register
The Vigilant Citizen Forums
Assistance with fasting-Christians and Muslims

09-04-2015, 12:49 PM #1
Annonymous Damsel
Marshall
I used to think that fasting for Christians was only done during Lent and for Muslims its done during EID.So basically I want to fast but how do I go about fasting because i have never done it before.How many hours shouldn't i eat for and when do i break my fast?When should i pray?how many days should i fast for?Help!! Huh
The following 4 users Like Annonymous Damsel's post:
  • Scimitar, The Creeper, Yahda, Tarikko

09-04-2015, 12:56 PM #2
khadeejah
Chaplain
(09-04-2015, 12:49 PM)Annonymous Damsel Wrote:  I used to think that fasting  for Christians was only done during Lent and for Muslims its done during EID.So basically I want to fast but how do I go about fasting because i have never done it before.How many hours shouldn't i eat for and when do i break my fast?When should i pray?how many days should i fast for?Help!! Huh

Hi AD -

If you aren't a Muslim then it is not upon you to fast like a Muslim.  if you want to become a Muslim first, then let me know and I'll tell you how.  After that you can learn about how Muslims fast, it is different than how Christians fast.  Anyways the month of fasting (Ramadhaan) is over so any fasts a Muslim does now would be considered supererogatory.

The following 2 users Like khadeejah's post:
  • The Creeper, Annonymous Damsel

09-04-2015, 01:20 PM #3
Tarikko
Chaplain
Well I say you can try Muslim fasting whether you are Muslim or not.

The benefits of Ramadan fasting are too many to list. We fast from dawn till dusk..

From sunrise till sunset everyday for a month. We get a window of time to eat from when the sunsets (Maghreb) till Sunrise (fajr)

This differs from country to country... Last year we were breaking our fast here in Lebanon at 8pm.. In England that time was around 9:30 pm... Loooooong day